House Democrats Elect Leadership for 2014 Session


Caucus Leaders elected the short legislative session that convenes in February 2014 House Majority Leader: Rep. Val Hoyle (D – Eugene) and House Majority Whip: Rep. Tobias Read (D – Beaverton).

Other leaders are:

House Majority Deputy Whip: Rep. Jessica Vega Pederson (D – Portland)

House Assistant Majority Leader – Policy: Rep. Michael Dembrow (D – Portland)

House Assistant Majority Leader – Politics: Rep. Nancy Nathanson (D – Eugene)

House Assistant Majority Leader – Politics: Rep. Jennifer Williamson (D – Portland)

“We accomplished some great things for Oregonians in 2013,” Rep. Hoyle said. “I’m proud to say that House Democrats are already eager to get back to work on the issues that matter most.”

Oregon continues to face some serious challenges, and we’re ready to tackle them,” Rep. Read said. “We’ll keep fighting to deliver real results for our schools, our economy, and our families.”

The constitutional officers, Speaker of the House Tina Kotek (D – Portland) and House Speaker Pro Tempore Chris Garrett (D – Lake Oswego), are elected only at the beginning of full legislative sessions and will therefore continue in their positions through the 2014 session.

House Democrats hold ex-officio leadership positions for the co-chair of the Joint Ways and Means Committee and the Revenue Committee chair.  Currently Reps. Peter Buckley (D – Ashland) and Phil Barnhart (D – Eugene) hold those respective positions.


About Author

Founded in 1994 by the late Pamela Hulse Andrews, Cascade Business News (CBN) became Central Oregon’s premier business publication. •

Leave A Reply